Crow Eclipse II

crow_eclipse_blue.png

The crows have been following me for a while now

Appearing often, seemingly randomly

but I know better

They are teaching me

Where ever I go I see them

When I leave on trips they cross my path in salute

When I take walks they are there

When I look up they are near

As the eclipse drew closer I knew something would  happen I just didn’t know what

After the eclipse everything seemed the same

The crows still keeping me company

Then the Change happened

The call came in late afternoon

“Better come on down to the hospital” my sister said “It’s serious now”

“No procedures, I want to die” you said

We acquiesced. It’s your choice and to have freedom to say what happens to you after so many years of limited freedom. It must of been a relief

“I recommend no hydration,” the Dr. said. “Hydration can prolong the death process.”

“She’ll just have pain control and anti anxiety medication.”

“Ok,” we said. New to this particular stage of endings.

Death is neither easy or pretty

You writhed and grimaced soaking pillow after pillow with sweat.

Your lips cracked with dehydration

They taught us how to dip little green sponges in water and apply to your mouth and lips to provide a simple comfort and kindness

I could tell you were in a different land your face in communication with actors we couldn’t see.

Family members were amazing. Showing up to pay their last respects.

Then the eclipse augury presented itself

You woke up

A glow about you like a newborn baby

newly reborn at 90 years of age

The change astounding

You had gone thru withdrawal from all the years of numerous medications

the deadly pharmaceutical cocktail

slowly poisoning you

You told us a amazing tale of crossing over and visiting the deceased

your mother and two sisters

We listened in wonderment

As you recovered in the hospital

You asked about the person sitting by your side

The person I couldn’t see

“A man” you said

You talked about

The two spiders, one black and one red

who lived in the hospital

You called them “The Watchers”

Drifting between worlds

We were dumbfounded and confused

Soon we were so caught up in helping you recover it was too hard to question

everything

anything

It just became

“The Miracle”

Now we have more time

to spend with you

The new you

While the crows keep up their vigilant watch

Guiding me as before

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Crow Eclipse II

Leave a Reply

